Review: Along Wooded Paths by Tricia Goyer

along wooded paths book coverPublisher: B&H Fiction Publishing Group
ISBN: 978-1433668692
Pages: 306
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5
Age recommendation: 13+

Marianna Sommer and her family relocated to Montana a few months ago. She works for an Englischer and enjoy the friendships of Englischers. As the days and weeks pass, she realizes that the Amish and Englisch have more in common than she, her family, or her community back in Indiana knew. At the same time, her heart is in conflict. She has to decide between the Amish man from Indiana, someone she has always wanted to marry, and the Englischer who befriended her family when they first came to Montana. If she marries the Englischer, she has to give up her traditions and community, and yet he is the most godly person she has ever met.

Review

I can’t stop thinking how stunning this novel is! I love it. It doesn’t romanticize the Amish people, but instead portrays them with their weaknesses and struggles. I read that Amish people don’t favor bonnet fiction much because they are usually portrayed as super holy with hardly any problems. This book certainly doesn’t do that. Marianna is in her rumschpringe and is somewhat more “liberal” than the Amish in her hometown. She mixes and befriends her Englisch co-workers and neighbors. She helps them and learns about God from her experiences with them. Since she is human too like all of us, she also makes mistakes.

Along Wooded Paths is the second book in the Big Sky Amish series. It can be read as a stand-alone. There was only one part where I got a little confused. Marianna writes letters to someone name June-Sevenies. I wish there was a slight note about who this June-Sevenies is. There is a third book in this Big Sky Amish series – Beyond Hopes Valley. It is high on my TBR list; I cannot wait to read it. There is a short teaser chapter of Beyond Hopes Valley in Along Wooded Paths and I was surprise to learn that it isn’t uncommon for Amish girls to get pregnant before they’re married. I’ve never knew this was the case and am certainly looking forward to reading the novel because it will probably give more information about the real Amish life.

I’ve read many praises for Tricia Goyer books but I didn’t really thought her book would be this good! After reading Along Wooded Paths, it is clear why her books are acclaimed. Her writing style and the way she develops the plot makes the reader want to read more and more and more. The emotions and problems of the characters are real and as a reader, I felt them keenly. I will definitely be reading more of Goyer’s books.

Read an excerpt of Along Wooded Paths

author tricia goyerTricia Goyer is the bestselling and award-winning author of 31 books, with two more books to be released in 2012. She has published over 500 articles for national publications such as Focus on the Family, HomeLife Magazine, and Today’s Christian Woman. The first book in the Big Sky Amish series, Beside Still Waters, was released in April 2011. The second book, Along Wooded Paths, was released in October 2011. The third book, Beyond Hopes Valley, will be released in April 2012. Visit Tricia’s website and blog at www.triciagoyer.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the LitFuse Publicity Group book bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Come to a Facebook Party and Live Author Chat!

Tricia is celebrating the release of Along Wooded Paths with a Fabulous Facebook party on October 18th. She’ll be giving away prizes and a sneak peak at the next book in the Big Sky series.

Then during the second half of the party she’ll be hosting a LIVE AUTHOR CHAT on her website and announcing something BIG! CLICK the button (below) to RSVP for the party – then go here to sign up for the Live Author Chat.

Along Wooded Paths Party

Click here for the Along Wooded Paths blog tour schedule.

10 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

10 responses to “Review: Along Wooded Paths by Tricia Goyer

  1. Wow, this is the first I’ve heard of Goyer but she sounds sounds just fabulous. Thanks for the lovely review!

  2. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading Trish’s book yet. Need to get my hands on a copy :)

  3. Thank you for the great review! If you love Book #2, I think you’d love #1 too! I appreciate it!

    Tricia

  4. This book looks great! I love the Amish! :)

  5. Pingback: 2011 Wrap-Up & 2012 Challenges | Sugarpeach