Review: The Brotherhood by Jerry B. Jenkins + Giveaway

Bookcover of The Brotherhood

Tyndale House Publishers, ISBN 978-1-4143-0922-4

Rating: 4 ~ I Like It

Boone Drake is a police officer in the Chicago Police Department. Having all that he could ever ask for, he is married to the woman of his dreams and together, they have an adorable toddling son. Boone also has an on-track career plan that will see him rise up the police job ranks. Just when life is as good as it could ever be, tragedy strikes and Boone’s world is turned upside down. Stripped of everything he had worked hard to achieve, Boone has to learn to depend solely on God even when it is hard to comprehend why some things we hate happen in life.

The Brotherhood wasn’t a very intense read due to the lapses in it. There were parts in the book where the action wasn’t as much as I had hope it would be. The beginning and end of the book was predictable. But what made the book different and interesting to read was the tragedy. It was twist that was both unique and unexpected. One would have expected it to be something that would merely rock the main character’s world but no, it is a twist that literally tears apart and removes everything from the character. The book also teaches us that life is not always smooth-sailing and things we work for our whole lives to achieve can be taken away from us in just a moment. Important life lessons about dealing with tragedy and how God never leaves us even though we sometimes go astray from Him are also dealt with in the book. Overall, The Brotherhood has a remarkably well plot that makes the book a pretty riveting read despite a few uninteresting parts. There will be two sequels to The Brotherhood and I am looking forward to reading them.

~~~~

Jerry Jenkins

Jerry B. Jenkins has authored over 175 books, 20 of which reached the New York Times Best Sellers list. His writings have appeared in dozens of both Christian and secular periodicals. Jenkins also owns Jenkins Entertainment (which produced the critically acclaimed movies, Midnight Clear and What If…) and Christian Writers Guild. Check out his website at http://www.jerryjenkins.com.

Interview with Jerry B. Jenkins

~~~~

More info about The Brotherhood and Jerry Jenkins can be found at http://www.tyndale.com/.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the electronic copy of this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale House Publishers <http://tyndale.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

~~~~

Book Certificate Giveaway

Giveaway has closed

Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a book certificate for The Brotherhood to giveaway to my blog readers. With this certificate, you can redeem a copy of this book at your local Christian bookstore or from Tyndale (if no store is available). Please comment on this post to be entered for this contest. I will number the comments based on which comes first and draw a number using random.org. The first number in the random number list would be the winner. I will mail the winner the certificate. This contest ends on February 28, 2011. The winner will be announced on March 1, 2011. If the winner does not reply within 4 days, another draw will be made.

For additional entries (optional):

-Subscribe to my blog by using the ‘Email Subscription’ form at the top-right corner. Use the same email address you will be using to comment. Each valid subscription counts as 1 additional entry.

-Post about this giveaway on your blog, Facebook, or Twitter. Include the link to your post(s) in your comment. Each post counts as 1 additional entry.

24 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Giveaways

24 responses to “Review: The Brotherhood by Jerry B. Jenkins + Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Interview with Jerry B. Jenkins | Sugarpeach

  2. I have been a fan of Jerry Jenkins since long before the Left Behind series was written. He is a wonderful writer and is always inspiring. Please enter me in this drawing. Thanks for the opportunity!

  3. I have wanting Jerry’s book badly!!! Love his writing. Thanks for the opportunity!

  4. Forgot to say I joined by newsletter.

  5. I have been wanting to read this one! Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  6. karenk

    would love to read this novel…thanks for the chance 🙂

  7. I love reading the books by Jerry Jenkins. Would love to win this book and post a review on my blog.

  8. Sheila Anne

    Have enjoyed Jerry Jenkins novels for several years. This one sounds like a great read. Carmen sent me.

  9. Aik

    I’d love to win this book! 🙂

  10. Pingback: West Of Mars — Win A Book! » Blog Archive » “The Brotherhood” by Jerry B. Jenkins

  11. All posted for you over at “Win a Book”!

  12. Thanks, Jonita!
    Residents of all countries can enter. =)

  13. Dear Evengeline,
    I also review for Tyndale. I found your blog through book blogs. Very nice review. I’ll be posting my review of “Changed by Faith” by Luis Palau (which I received from Tyndale) tomorrow on my blog. God bless!

  14. Hi Sharon, I’ll be looking forward to reading it.

  15. Roanna

    The book sounds interesting! I would like to be entered. Thanks!

  16. Sam

    I’d love to enter, thanks!

  17. Email subscriber!
    Would love to win this book!

  18. Meredith Miller

    Sounds like a good story, please enter me!

    meredithfl at gmail dot com

  19. Meredith Miller

    Email subscriber

  20. Ben

    This book looks to be awesome! Thanks for the chance to win!

    I am also subscribed!

    Ben

    bigo.of.buckland[at]gmail[dot]com

  21. Thank you all for entering this giveaway. The winner has been drawn; https://sugarpeach.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/the-brotherhood-giveaway-winner/.
    The next giveaway I am hosting starts tomorrow. Watch this blog for more info.

  22. Love Jerry’s books. Always great Scriptural truths. Please enter me.

    I subscribe by email.

  23. Pingback: Interview with Jerry B. Jenkins | Audacious Reader