Interview with Jerry B. Jenkins

Jerry B. JenkinsAs a follow-up to my review of The Brotherhood, please allow me to present to you an interview with Jerry B. Jenkins!

Mr. Jenkins is not only the author of this book, a very wonderful piece of Christian fiction, but also the author of more than 175 books, including the bestselling Left Behind series. Besides writing, he also runs the Christian Writers Guild and Jenkins Entertainment companies.

What is the inspiration behind your writing of The Brotherhood?

My father was a career police chief and my two older brothers were also lifetime cops. So, I was immersed in the life. Plus I lived in the Chicago area for 35 years.

The Brotherhood is the first installment of a police trilogy. What should readers expect from the other two books?

Book two, The Betrayal, solves the mystery set up in book one, and I’m about to start the writing of book three, working title The Breakthrough. That one will take our hero to Asia for part of the story.

Do you have any other book projects coming up, other than the police trilogy?

I’m afraid I have more ideas than years left to write them, but nothing is currently contracted for.

You are an author with more than 175 books under your belt, you own Christian Writers Guild and Jenkins Entertainment, and you are the chairman of the board of trustees for the Moody Bible Institute. How do you manage to do all that?

Writing is really my only gift, so I feel obligated to exercise it. The two companies have wonderful, self-motivated staffs. And the Moody service is an act of love for the place and the people. And the chairman is the one who does the least. I don’t even vote except to break ties, and that hasn’t happened during my tenure. But seriously, I think we find time to do what we really want to do.

Which Jenkins Entertainment movie is your favorite and why?

I have to say the latest, What If…, because I think my son really hit his sweet spot as a director. And this was the first of our features that was not based on something I had written, so there was no inner conflict over the difference between the book and the film version. It really is a special piece of work and has just been nominated, along with pictures like Toy Story 3 and Despicable Me, as best family picture of 2010. Very proud of it and of son Dallas.

Do you have any favorite fiction book and if yes, what makes you enjoy reading it?

I thought Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow and The Green Mile by Stephen King were masterpieces. Turow’s because the twist worked so beautifully, and King’s because he so thoroughly evoked a period and a setting that he set the bar high for all novelists.

Can you please tell us something about yourself that most people do not know?

I was once an undercover drug buyer, a narc. I still remember the adrenaline rush and the dread fear. It was a short term thing – just three cases – but it gave me a taste of what cops have to do. Writing, hard as it is, is a much less stressful way to make a living.

If you had not become an author, what would you be doing?

Probably sports writing. That’s how I started. And if not writing at all, probably coaching or playing some role in sports. Baseball is my passion.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring youth writers?

Read, read, read. Writers are readers. Good writers are good readers. Great writers are great readers. And get involved in some sort of journalism. School paper, local paper, ezine, something. Write every day. Texting is not writing. Blogging is not necessarily writing. Write where you are edited. Every published piece of writing is not a solo but a duet between writer and editor. Learn to be a ferocious self-editor.

What motivates you to keep on writing?

At the risk of sounding falsely modest, I really do believe it’s my only gift. And I love making up stories.

What do you want to accomplish in the writing and entertainment world?

My goal is to keep people riveted to the page or the screen.

Final question, can you please describe your writing journey in one word?

Fulfilling

~~~~

Many thanks to Mr. Jenkins for giving his time for this interview! Visit his website at www.jerryjenkins.com to know more about him and read his blog posts.

Also, don’t forget to enter the giveaway contest for The Brotherhood. The contest ends on February 19, 2011. More info about it can be found at Review: The Brotherhood by Jerry B. Jenkins.

4 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews, Giveaways

4 responses to “Interview with Jerry B. Jenkins

  1. Pingback: Review: The Brotherhood by Jerry B. Jenkins + Giveaway | Sugarpeach

  2. This is awesome! I LOVE your blog and just subscribed.

    I found your through book blogs. 😉

    ecwrites.blogspot.com

  3. Hi Elisa,

    Thanks!

    Evangeline

  4. Pingback: Review: The Brotherhood by Jerry B. Jenkins + Giveaway | Audacious Reader