Review: The DMZ by Jeanette Windle

the dmz book coverKregel Publications, ISBN 978-0825441189

Rating: 5 ~ I Love It

After three US assets died under mysterious circumstances in a Colombian demilitarized zone (DMZ), the guerrilla Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC) immediately came under suspicion. FARC denied their involvement in the deaths and invited a group of reporters and politicians to the DMZ for a press conference. Among the group is Julie Baker, a magazine reporter. Julie’s parents had been missionaries in Columbia but they were killed when she was 16. Now she returns to the country that had taken her parents from her. Her only goal is to revisit her birthplace. But, something happens and her plans are thrown into disarray. Joining her on the adventure is United States Army’s Special Forces officer, Captain Rick Martini. They have to investigate whether the FARC is responsible for the deaths or whether there a deadly plot involving Middle Eastern counterparts?

At 512 pages long, The DMZ is the longest book I’ve ever read for reviewing purposes. Despite its lengthiness, it was a very entertaining read and I couldn’t resist peeking at the back of the book to see if the hero and heroine survived. The book’s theme is suspense and it stayed true to its theme throughout the book. But there were a few well-placed funny scenes that helped ease the tension brought by the suspense. The DMZ‘s plot is superbly well-written. I like the way Jeanette Windle started the story by giving readers background information about the parties involved and interested in the Colombian DMZ. I also like the way many general knowledge information can be learned from reading The DMZ. Since it is a novel that has to do with politics and knowledge about Colombia, it has many well-researched facts ranging from the guerrilla situation in Colombia to military machinery. There is also much to be learned about not taking for granted the safety of the US as a nation. This book involves characters who are Muslim terrorists and it couldn’t have been coincidental that the rough draft for it was completed on the morning of September 11, 2001. Reading it has made me realized how potentially vulnerable the United States is and how God is indeed protecting her from harm. Overall, The DMZ is a wonderfully fantastic book. I just can’t get enough of it!

~~~~

author jeanette windleJeanette Windle grew up in Colombia where her parents served as missionaries. She started her writing career while working with women and children at risk in Bolivia and has won several awards Her first book in the political/suspense genre, CrossFire, was published in 2000. Since then, she has written 3 more political/suspense books including The DMZ which was published in 2002. Her fourth political/suspense novel will be released in May 2011. Visit her website at www.jeanettewindle.com.

Guest blog post with Jeanette Windle

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through The LitFuse Publicity Group <http://litfusegroup.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

6 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

6 responses to “Review: The DMZ by Jeanette Windle

  1. Pingback: Guest blog post by Jeanette Windle + Giveaway | Sugarpeach

  2. Thanks for your comment on my blog. Jeanette is my new favorite author too. I haven’t started DMZ yet, which I won in the giveaway, since I had just read the other two, which were library copies. I’m looking forward to reading it. And, after reading Veiled Freedom, I’m anxious to read Freedom’s Stand. She is an excellent author!

    • You’re welcome. I definitely agree with you! Jeanette writes excellently well. I don’t own any of her other books… haven’t seen them in the bookstores here. But if I ever get the chance to review Freedom’s Stand, I’d definitely grab it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sugarpeach | Novel Publicity

  4. Pingback: 2011 Wrap-Up & 2012 Challenges | Sugarpeach

  5. Pingback: If I Am Julie Baker by Jeanette Windle + Giveaway | Audacious Reader