Review: The Eloquence of Desire by Amanda Sington-Williams

the eloquence of desire book coverSparkling Books Ltd., ISBN 978-1907230110

Rating: 2 ~ I Don’t Like It

The setting is in the 1950s. After being caught having an affair with the boss’ daughter, George is transferred to Malaya as a punishment. Wife Dorothy does not want to leave him because of social ego reasons and makes herself miserable in Malaya. Daughter Susan suffers as she watches her family disintegrates and starts to harm herself. Since during the 1950s, there was a Communist insurgency in Malaya and an Emergency was declared, the family not only have to protect themselves from each other but also from the Communists and Communists sympathizers.

When I heard that the setting for The Eloquence of Desire is Malaya, I just knew that I had to review it. For those of you who do not know, Malaysia was formerly known as Malaya. I enjoyed the descriptions of Malaya. There were good and rich. As I read, I could vividly picture in my mind the market and plantation roads. I vaguely remembered reading that clandestine extramarital affairs weren’t unusual in the early and mid-1990s but the vileness of it captured in the book was abhor-able. I detested all the main characters. George with his selfishness and justifications for his affairs. Dorothy with her brooding misery. Susan with her unreasonable demands and childishness. After reading The Eloquence of Desire, I realized that the story is not about George nor Dorothy. The story is about Susan, a victim of her family’s disintegration. As for the book title and cover … they didn’t really make sense to me. I couldn’t see how the title is relevant to the book nor how the picture (which looks very much like that of an Oriental lady though I might be wrong) on the book cover is relevant to the book. When I saw the picture, all I thought was that the beads were strangleholds.

~~~~

amanda williams authorAmanda Sington-Williams grew up in England, but has widely-traveled and spent time in many countries including Japan, Australia and Spain. She has a degree in Creative Writing/Authorship and does freelance writing while teaching novel writing. The Eloquence of Desire is her first novel and it was published in June 2010. It won her an award from the Royal Literary Fund. She has since completed her second novel, A Little Rain Will Fall. Besides writing novels, she also writes a variety of poetry and short stories. Check out her website at www.amandasingtonwilliams.co.uk.

Interview with Amanda Sington-Williams

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received an electronic copy of this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

4 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

4 responses to “Review: The Eloquence of Desire by Amanda Sington-Williams

  1. Amy

    I do like books set in the past….maybe I should check this out.

    I was trying to explain to my friend that people from Malaysia (a good friend of mine is ethnic Chinese, but grew up in Malyasia, now he’s in the U.S.) prefer to be called “Oriental” not “Asian.” She doesn’t get it. But I see you put it in your post as well.

    • Actually, we aren’t usually called either. Outside people call us Malaysians. And between ourselves, we call each other based on our races: Malays, Chinese, Indians, Orang Asli (natives), etc.

  2. Pingback: Interview with Amanda Sington-Williams | Sugarpeach

  3. Pingback: Interview with Amanda Sington-Williams | Audacious Reader