Interview with Amanda Sington-Williams

amanda authorAs a follow-up to my review of The Eloquence of Desire by Amanda Sington-Williams, I bring to you an interview with Amanda! Amanda comes from a family of writers. She not only writes full-length novels but also short stories and poetry as well. Her stories involve political and historical events and her poetry have been read in BBC Radio.

~~~~

How was the research process for The Eloquence of Desire like?

My grandparents lived in Colonial Malaya for twenty-two years and my mother and aunt were born there. I used photographs of their houses to locate the scenes in my book and recorded their memories. Also, a cousin was a foreign correspondent during 1955 when the book is initially set and he wrote about The Emergency. I carried out other research into the period with several visits to The British Library. I have visited Malaysia several times.

What is the message you are trying to bring across through the book title, The Eloquence of Desire?

The book title was the publisher’s choice. Because they sell it as a Romance, they homed in on the narrative of obsessive love that runs through the story.

What is the message you are trying to bring across through the book cover picture?

This was the publisher’s choice. The picture portrays a 1950s woman who is torn by the limited choices available to her.

What was the best part in the writing/publishing process of The Eloquence of Desire?

This is my first novel so it took the form of a steep learning curve. I won an award from The Royal Literary Fund and the prize was a writing mentor with an award winning writer. This was a brilliant experience as there were only twelve of us selected from over four hundred entrants. The best part of the publishing process was having my four free copies delivered to me by the publishers.

What lesson do you want readers to take away after reading The Eloquence of Desire?

That the period we are born in will affect the decisions we make about our lives. In the 1950s, the choices available, to women especially, were greatly limited.

Can you please tell us a little-known fact about yourself?

I have a soft spot for animals and often give my characters pets or allow them to watch and listen to them.

Anything else you would like to say?

My second novel ‘A Little Rain Will Fall’ is due to be published in 2012. Go to my website for more information about me: www.amandasingtonwilliams.co.uk.

~~~~

Thank you, Amanda, for the interview! For more information about Amanda and her work, check out her website linked above. You can read my review of The Eloquence of Desire at Review: The Eloquence of Desire by Amanda Sington-Williams.

2 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews