Review: The Collectibles by James J. Kaufman

the collectibles book coverDownstream Publishing, ISBN 978-0982587300

Rating: 4 ~ I Like It

30 years ago, Joe Hart started living by the motto “Do what the other fella can’t. Be what the other fella ain’t”. Now, Joe is having a distinguished career as an attorney. But tragedy strikes. 30 years ago, Preston Wilson was rescued from a crevice by Joe. Now, Preston is the owner of one of the largest mega-car dealer company in the country. But he and his company’s finances is in serious trouble. Joe is the only attorney who can help Preston out of his financial mess and he agrees to help but on one condition, Preston must promise to fulfill an unspecified request when called upon.

The Collectibles is one of the few books I’ve reviewed so far which contains so many lessons in a single book and it is not glaringly preachy. In the book, the collectibles are Joe’s friends who each have personal problems. These people are the nobodys in society. The Collectibles ends on a sad but triumphant note. Two men made a difference in the lives of six people. Since Joe is an attorney and Preston is embroiled in business problems, legal and business lingo was used. As I read the book, I wished there was a glossary explaining the uncommon terms. I had to Google certain terms to find out what they meant. Overall, I found The Collectibles a highly enjoyable and highly intriguing story. There wasn’t much suspense in it, but what kept me turning the pages was the method of ingenuity in the plot. Besides that, it was also great fun learning about certain law and business practices!

Click here to read Chapter 1

~~~~

james kaufman authorJames J. Kaufman is an attorney, CEO of The Kaufman Group, Ltd. and former judge. The Collectibles was written from his experiences in law and business. He won the 2011 Nautilus Silver Award-Fiction and the 2011 Nautilus Small Press Honor for The Collectibles. While The Collectibles is his debut novel, he has also published several non-fiction works. He is currently writing his second novel. Visit his website at www.jamesjkaufman.com.

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through The Cadence Group <http://www.thecadencegrp.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

7 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

7 responses to “Review: The Collectibles by James J. Kaufman

  1. I’m reading this novel now and so far its pretty good. i should be posting my review in another week.

  2. This sounds like an interesting book, I have put it onto my wish list.

    Linda http://www.books-treasureortrash.com

    • The Collectibles sure is an interesting book, but it’s more than that. Many life lessons can be learned from it as some parts are pretty thought-provoking. 🙂