Why I Do What I Do by Colleen Coble + Giveaway

colleen coble authorYou’d be surprised how many people ask me why I write intrigue into my romances. I love the puzzle of a murder mystery and the thrill of a heroine in danger. I grew up on Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys and loved pretending I was Nancy Drew on the trail of a mystery. I’m all about relationships too, so I love watching my characters work out their internal issues as they fall in love. But I have to have that mystery element in there too.

After puzzling through it for a long time, I finally realized it’s my strong sense of justice that compels me to have my heroine up against seemingly insurmountable odds and facing danger at every turn. In this world we don’t see much justice. Murderers go unpunished. Bad things happen to good people. But I know that justice is sometimes just delayed in this world. In the end, God will make sure that justice prevails. In the meantime, I can create a world of justice in my books. I can make sure the murderer gets what he deserves, that the hero saves the day, and that the heroine prevails against the problems she’s been working to overcome.

The Lightkeeper’s Ball is no exception to my brand of writing. Olivia is one of the Four Hundred, an elite group of prominent families in 1910. When she discovers her sister is dead, she’s sure it’s no accident. And she’s determined to find out who killed her and why. Even if it means traveling to the wilderness of a northern California lighthouse and allowing herself to become engaged to Harrison, her sister’s former fiance and the man Olivia suspects of the murder.

How about you? If you read romantic mysteries, what draws you to the genre? Comment to be entered in a drawing for a signed copy of my new release The Lightkeeper’s Ball!

~~~~

Giveaway

Mandatory entry: Leave a comment telling what draws you to the romantic mystery genre.

Additional entries (optional, a total of 3 additional entries allowed)

-Subscribe to my blog using the ‘Email Subscription’ form at the top-right corner. Use the same email address you will be using to comment. In the comment, tell me that you have subscribed to my blog. A subscription counts as 1 additional entry.

-Ask Colleen a question in your comment! Each question counts as 1 additional entry.

-Post about this giveaway in your blog, Facebook or Twitter*. Include the link(s) to your post(s) in the comment. Each post counts as 1 additional entry.

*For Twitter posts, use this: @EvangelineHan I entered to win a copy of The Lightkeeper’s Ball by Colleen Coble. http://bit.ly/lnofU5

Giveaway is open worldwide. Please do not include your email address in the comment (it might open you to spam) as I can see the email addresses of all commentors. The winners will be drawn using random.org. This contest ends on May 30, 2011. The winner will be announced on May 31, 2011. If the winner does not reply within 4 days, another draw will be made.

47 Comments

Filed under Giveaways, Guest blog posts

47 responses to “Why I Do What I Do by Colleen Coble + Giveaway

  1. Don’t enter me. I already have the book & reviewed it on my blog 🙂 I just wanted to say that Colleen writes mystery & intrigue excellently! If you love puzzles (which is why I love a good mystery) you won’t be disappointed!!

  2. Ruth

    I also grew up on Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, and the 3 investigators. as far as what draws me to an intrigue/romance? I think to me it makes it so there’s actually a story there rather than just ‘sweet nothings’. I mean like any girl I like a good romance, but it gets tiresome reading the books that are pure romance with basically no plot!
    Thanks Colleen for adding some plot to the mix! 🙂

  3. I like mysteries and I like some romance thrown in.

  4. I’m a subscriber! 🙂 lisagoneaussie (at) gmail.com

  5. I particularly like the romance mystery genre because it is the best of both worlds! I love romance AND mystery. Why not read both in one book? It adds something magical. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Review: The Lightkeeper’s Ball by Colleen Coble | Sugarpeach

  7. Frances

    My mom turn me on to Gone with the Wind in 1976. I have been a fan of this writing and can not get enough.

  8. kelly womack

    I LIKE ROMANCE

  9. Pingback: West Of Mars — Win A Book! » Blog Archive » The Lightkeeper’s Ball by Colleen Coble

  10. lkish77123

    No romance in my life so I like to read about it in books. (Don’t get me wrong, I am not interested in romance either.)

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  11. Margie

    I love a good mystery, especially ones with many twists and turns. A little romance thrown in doesn’t hurt either!

  12. Margie

    Author questions…
    -What is your favorite place to write?
    -When did you first start writing?

    • I write in my recliner in the living room, Margie. 🙂 I can kick up my feet and enter my imaginary world. I get way more done than sitting in front of a desk. I’d always wanted to write but I didn’t get started until 1990 after one of my younger brothers was killed in a freak lightning accident. It was a wake up call that I needed to get started.

      Abbie, I am not a plotter. I wish I could plot. I start off with an interesting premise but I often don’t even know who is the murderer until at least halfway through the book. It’s very instinctual and comes from having read so many. Wish I had a magic solution to how to do it! 🙂

  13. I love romance and it always adds an extra edge to any mystery in my opinion. More depth.

  14. Amy

    In these romantic mysteries, the guy usually ends up saving the girl SOMEHOW and that never gets old for me. Never!

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  15. Amy

    I subscribe to your blog via Google Reader. I hope that’s OK!

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  16. Great giveaway, and I already have the book, just getting ready to review it. But……I would love to win a copy to donate to our local library. So please enter me. (I just can’t give up my copy now). I love Colleen Coble’s books…and The Lightkeepers Ball did not disappoint. Its an awesome read!!! Couldn’t put it down.
    Blessings…..Joy
    ibjoy1953{at]yahoo[dot]com

  17. Amber

    I love romantic mysteries because there isn’t anything else like them. Two completely differnt genres stuck together is so intruging. Plus Colleen Coble is a favorite author of mine!

    oh, and I subscribed via email.

    And here’s a author question:
    What age did you start writing?

  18. They are a much-needed mental escape from the nightmare I’ve been living for the last twelve years (with no end in sight) as documented on my blog. I was actually advised to document what was being done to my children and me by someone in the media because he said we had no hope of any kind of relief or justice otherwise!

  19. I typically go for traditional romances. However, occasionally I will read a romance mystery. They’re good for a change up!

  20. Abbie

    1) I tweeted it http://twitter.com/#!/abbie_R_wilson
    2) I also subscribed to your blog
    3) Annnd I have a question: How do you plan out mysteries and effectively write about them so as to not give them away or make them terribly obvious or boring? How do you make them intricate?
    4) I like the romance mystery genre because it semi-satisfies my need for justice to happen, and makes me think. Oh, and although it doesn’t do anything overly good for my romantic tendencies and daydreams… I just love mysteries incredibly and have been “hooked,” if you will, since I was about…7 years old. ish. =)

  21. I am drawn to the romantic mystery genre because I like my romance to have intrigue, purpose, and a sense of danger. A good mystery livens things up.

  22. Tweet

  23. I’m a new subscriber too.

  24. wyndwhisper

    i like trying to figure them out before the end of the book without looking and then seeing if i was right or even better being wrong and being surprise by what happens.
    i subscribed to the blog.
    trvlagnt1t(at)yahoo(dot)com

  25. JHS

    There’s something about a couple working together to solve a mystery that heightens the romance. I think back to app. 1980 when my wonderful, late friend Clint Ritchie joined the cast of One Life to Live and they had him wooing Victoria Lord Riley, the publisher of the newspaper. They worked together to get the big story and solve the big mystery, as she fell as hard for him as he had already fallen for her. It was completely charming. And, incidentally, one of his all-time favorite story lines during his 20+ years on the show, too. Ah, afternoons watching our soaps made for good times back in the days before the internet, HBO, and the 1,000’s of other channels we all get on our cable line-ups these days. It was a simpler and, in some ways, happier time.

  26. Lady DragonKeeper

    I also loved Nancy Drew books growing up! A reason why I like romantic mysteries is that I can enjoy a bit of romance, but I can still tell my mom it’s a mystery book/series. 😉

    Thanks for the chance to win this book!

    jafuchi7[at]hawaii[dot]edu

    My question for Mrs. Coble would be about the book cover process. “The Lightkeeper’s Ball” has such a gorgeous cover! Did she have input in the design process? If so, how much?

  27. Charlotte Kay

    I love romantic books, clean romance, and I love mysteries; therefore, romantic mysteries are the best of both!!!!! Usually the couple is so intrigued with the mystery that they fail to realize their attraction to one another until the mystery is solved. Thus, they don’t want to move on without one another !!!! LOVE IT!!!

    I am now an email subscriber:)

    Colleen,
    How hard is it to create new and intriguing plots?
    Do you have to do a lot of research for each one?

    Thanks for the chance to win this book!!!!!!!!!

  28. I like mysteries and I like romances so put them together to make it even better

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  29. email subscriber

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  30. Kathryn Mackey

    love to enjoy the book for summer

  31. Emma

    subscribed to your blog. I like romance and mystery.

  32. Emma

    How long did it take to write the Lightkeeper’s Ball ?

  33. Pat

    Love to win

  34. Tamara Burks

    A puzzle to solve and a happy ending.

  35. I think I like the intrigue for some of the same reasons Colleen stated. I like a puzzle. I like to figure things out and find out where they belong. The mystery part of the story usually acts as a catalyst to force the characters to make choices, change, and grow as the story develops. As a beginning writer, I never envisioned myself writing mystery or suspense. Now it’s my favorite to write.
    Thank you for sharing a part of your writing journey!

  36. Julie Lowe

    I love to win this because all I d is read and I am super excited to add this to my book collection.

  37. Hannah

    I have always been a big mystery fan starting with Nancy Drew as a child and Sherlock Holmes in my preteen years. The romance became more preferred the older I got. I adore this series because of its great mystery that is not overpowered by the romance.
    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wolfluvr420/status/75263692643647490
    Follow via email

  38. Veronica Garrett

    I love romantic mysteries. I love the old ’40s films with Bogie and Bacalle.

  39. Becky

    I absolutely love the suspense of trying to figure out who the bad guy/girl is!

  40. The contest winner is… Margie! Congratulations!
    On a side not, it was unfortunate that I could not count entries that did not tell why the entrants like romantic mysteries.

  41. Pingback: Review: The Lightkeeper’s Ball by Colleen Coble | Audacious Reader