Review: Stilettos & Scoundrels by Laina Turner

stilettos and scoundrels banner

Five Seas Ink, ISBN 978-0578034072

Rating: 1 ~ I Hate It

Presley Thurman have returned to her hometown for an interview assignment. She was supposed to interview Senator Tom Daniels, until he was found murdered. Presley embarks on an investigation to find the identity of the murderer. Along the way, plenty of secrets are revealed… including those from the past. But this will not stop Presley from finding out the truth, no matter what the costs are.

Stilettos & Scoundrels had a good murder mystery plot but unfortunately, the prose was horrible. Past tense were used at the wrong places, the story was over-narrated and too many “blah, blah, blah”s and “whatever”s were used. Furthermore, although Presley is the heroine in the story, I found her quite a turn-off, mean jerk. She lied, thought too much of herself, was rude, impatient and generally too big-mouthed. For the sake of the wonderfully plotted mystery, I found Stilettos & Scoundrels a bearable read but this isn’t a book I will re-read.

~~~~

laina turner authorLaina Turner is a college professor, writer of fiction and non-fiction, owner of an independent press publishing company and campaigner for the awareness of multiple sclerosis. Her book, Stilettos & Scoundrels, was published in February 2010. It is available in paperback and eBook. She is currently working on its sequel. Visit her website at www.lainaturner.com.

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the electronic copy of this book free from the publisher through the Nurture Your BOOKS <http://www.nurtureyourbooks.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

6 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

6 responses to “Review: Stilettos & Scoundrels by Laina Turner

  1. I too reviewed this book and felt the same as you did. ghezzzzz.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one criticizing this book. I Googled for reviews of this book and all the reviews I read were heaping praises on this book.

  2. Pingback: Stilettos & Scoundrels by Laina Turner – Nurture BOOK TOUR Page » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG

  3. Hi Sugarpeach,

    I’m sorry to hear that Stilettos & Scoundrels and that Presley, in particular, was too loud for your tastes. We can’t enjoy every book that we read, that’s for sure.

  4. Thanks! I’ll be sure not to read this one.