Booking Through Thursday: Interactive?

booking through thursday icon
With the advent (and growing popularity) of eBooks, I’m seeing more and more articles about how much “better” they can be, because they have the option to be interactive … videos, music, glossaries … all sorts of little extra goodies to help “enhance” your reading experience, rather like listening to the Director’s commentary on a DVD of your favorite movie.

How do you feel about that possibility? Does it excite you in a cutting-edge kind of way? Or does it chill you to the bone because that’s not what reading is ABOUT?

I have always held the opinion that eBooks is a useful but somewhat necessary evil. Reading that interaction could make eBooks better doesn’t change my opinion of eBooks. What is the world of reading coming to? The main thing about books is its content! Videos, music and all the other extras are just gimmicks to make a book more attractive. Maybe this is due in part to eBooking making publishing books so convenient and affordable that even junk ones can be published. The question I’m having in mind is, are too many books being published as eBooks so much so that publishers have to resort to using gimmicks to enhance the book and portray it as read-worthy?

12 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

12 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Interactive?

  1. VERY good answer. I’m with you on all accounts. I think that you said more perfectly what I don’t think I could have said tactfully. :O)

  2. Amy

    Good answer! 🙂

  3. You did a much better job to wording this than I did. Great honest answer!

    My Answer

    • I’ve considered blogging my thoughts about this whole eBook vs. print book thing for awhile. Today’s question gave me a chance to blog a little bit about it. 🙂

  4. Carol M

    I agree with you completely!
    I don’t want videos and music when I’m reading!

  5. I love my ereaders but i’m in love with my BOOks. I look at it like this: stairs and escalators, both have a use and a place. ebooks and books. ebooks i use when traveling more than a day outside of my car. save on luggage space and weight.

  6. I agree. I’ve only read one ebook. I missed holding the book. And certainly interactive stuff is nonsense. Totally agree. I think ebooks are for people who don’t really enjoy reading in the first place.