“Waiting On” Wednesday: Happy Chaos

waiting on wednesday iconMy pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection for this week is:

happy chaos book coverHappy Chaos
By Soleil Moon Frye
Publication date: August 23

Book description from Amazon:

Enthusiastic, spunky, and positive, Punky Brewster was the quintessential eighties kid. Nearly thirty years later, Soleil Moon Frye-the adorable girl who played her on TV-is all grown up. Now she’s a married mom of two, an entrepreneur who parlayed her successful kids’ clothing line into a partnership with Target, and a social media whiz with millions of followers. Many of the same girls who watched Soleil on television are now grown up with children of their own, too, and they look to her as a go-to source for realistic, in-the-trenches parenting advice, inspiration, and fun. Happy Chaos invites those women into Soleil’s world, and makes them revel in the chaos of their own lives, too.

Soleil believes that “happy chaos” is the sign of a family operating at its best-when parents accept that they’ll make mistakes, that there will be messes, tears and skinned knees. She learned to love a jumbled life during her own childhood, when her own mom created an atmosphere that was thoroughly unconventional. Their house in Los Angeles was a haven for many young stars of Soleil’s generation, often far from home and looking for a safe place to hang out. In this book, she shows how her happy but chaotic childhood informed her parenting: Each chapter begins with a telling reminiscence before moving into insightful advice and fun stories about life with her husband and two adorable daughters.

What’s your pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection for this week? Comment and tell me!

18 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

18 responses to ““Waiting On” Wednesday: Happy Chaos

  1. This looks pretty interesting; might need to pick this up when it hits the shelves. I would love if you checked out my WoW too!

    Btw, LOVE THE BLOG… I quickly became a NEW follower.

    Looking forward to hearing back from you,
    Cory @ Anti-Drug Reads

    • The thing that drew me to this book was that my family life is pretty chaotic (what do you expect from a family with 4 girls?!) too.
      Sure, checking out your blog now. Thanks for visiting Sugarpeach!

  2. A great choice! I grew up being called Punky Brewster 😉

    My WoW, http://obsessionwithbooks.blogspot.com

    Have a nice week 🙂

    • Haha, I’ve never heard of Punky Brewster before. I shall have to check out this TV show’s synopsis later! Left a comment at your WoW. Have a nice week too!

  3. oh this is good news. I know a few people that would love to know what ever happened to her. its good to hear wonderful things about childhood celebrities.

    • Autobiographies/memoirs by former child celebs are often interesting! Especially if they manage to avoid the rough road many child celebs are apt to take.

  4. I loved Punky Brewster as a kid! Definitely going to look into this one. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I like this book’s title, because chaos usually isn’t happy haha! Thanks for sharing. It’s a pleasant surprise to see someone near my age reading such a different kind of book (:

    My WoW

    Felicia @ A Novel Paradise

    • True, most times! Maybe it’s my upbringing… I started reading biographies when I was as young as 9 or 10 years old. 🙂 Commented in your WoW post!

  6. Amy

    Sounds interesting. Hope you enjoy it! Can’t help but love the 80s. 🙂

    Here’s my WoW

    Amy@adumbrations

  7. erikasbuddy

    THat is too cool!! I used to watch PUNKY as a kid! Always wonder what happened to her. Loves it!

    Check out our WoW, and while your there don’t miss out on a couple of great giveaways and events HERE, and HERE!!

  8. OMG! Punky Brewster! I was a huge fan! I’d heard she had the kids line of clothing, but didn’t know about her book. thanks.

    My WoW