Booking Through Thursday: Size Matters

booking through thursday icon

What’s the largest your personal library has ever been? What’s the greatest number of books you’ve ever owned at one time? (Estimates are fine.) Is your collection NOW the biggest it’s ever been? Or have you down-sized? What’s the fewest number of books you’ve ever owned (not counting your pre-reading years)?

I live with my family, and we have four bookshelves plus a few boxes of books. Since I started book blogging late last year, I’ve been collecting my own books and currently have 24 print books and six eBooks. Not many, but as the saying goes, a little by little becomes a mountain. I’ve always thought that it’ll be marvelous to have an heirloom of books. That is what I’m gearing for.

26 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

26 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Size Matters

  1. Well I have to admit that little by little can quickly become an avalanche…
    http://unicornslaststand.blogspot.com/

  2. We have books everywhere! Huge shelves full and running over, stacks by the beds, on tables, in boxes…what can I say? We love books, plus I personally have over 30 on my Kindle for PC, and numerous PDF’s as well! My son has about 60 or more on his Kindle. We ARE bookaholics 🙂

    • how do I get this to log me in on wordpress instead of blogger every time?

      • If you’re logged in to your WordPress account, just click on the WordPress comment option. If you aren’t logged in, click on the “Log in” button in the WordPress comment option (located between the Guest and Twitter comment options).

    • The other day, my mom asked my youngest sister to read all the books in the box so that she could give them away. I was asking her to keep them since there aren’t many good children books and who knows, I might want to use them for my kids! 🙂
      Btw, there really should be a forum for bookaholics…

  3. I just realized that I didnt even take the kids books into account. HMMM that makes it even different.

    My BTT answer.

  4. Ebooks! I forgot to count those! Although I don’t have many. It will be a growing category, though.
    http://schooloutofschool.blogspot.com/2011/06/booking-through-thursday-size-matters.html

    • My number of eBooks were growing until I stopped accepting eBooks a couple of weeks ago. If not, I’d probably have another 5 to 6 eBooks. I don’t know whether it’s just me or not, but my number of eBooks grows faster than my number of print books.

      • I can see how that would happen! My biggest problem with eBooks might be that I would forget to read them. They wouldn’t be right in my face like my physical books.

      • Very true. Plus, I find reading eBooks somewhat inconvenient as I don’t have an eReader. So they tend to stay in my computer for weeks until I finally force myself to read them.

      • Oh yes, the no eReader problem. I also share a computer with my husband so during some of my downtime the computer is not available. It would take me FOREVER to read very many ebooks!

      • Yeah, that’s part of the reason why I stopped taking eBooks for reviews. It takes up way too much time, and it really isn’t good for my eyes as I’ll be staring at the computer screen for hours.

  5. Yes, it’s harder when you live with others…which is why my first collections in my own place were books.

    Here’s MY BTT POST

    • Our house isn’t that big, so installing another book cupboard isn’t an option. My shelf of books located beside my bed is full so I’m trying to get another shelf installed above it. Books come in way too quick… but I can’t complain. 🙂

  6. Just wait! The longer you blog, the bigger your TBR!

    Ubiquitous…that’s books for me…Booking Through Thursday: Size Matters.

  7. Wow…I don’t remember not every having only a few books. We currently have 6 bookcases with 5 shelves each filled to overflowing. Thankfully, I found http://www.paperbackswap.com/index.php today and I think I may trade some of the ones we just don’t like for some that we do! 🙂

  8. I don’t even know how I’d answer this question. I weeded my book collection quite a bit before and after my recent move, but I still have hundreds. I keep saying that I’ll go through my book cases and update my librarything library properly so I can keep track of them, but I’ve only done one of my 4 so far.

    In any case – I wanted to let you know that I found you through the Literary Blog Directory and that I’m following you now.