The Sun’s Heartbeat by Bob Berman giveaway

the sun's heartbeat book coverI am hosting a giveaway of The Sun’s Heartbeat by Bob Berman. Three copies of the book were made available for giveaway courtesy of Little, Brown and Company. Giveaway ends on July 31.

Since I recently received an invitation to join Rafflecopter, I’m using this opportunity to test the widget. I am posting this giveaway in Sugarpeach’s Facebook fan page since this widget does not work in WordPress.com. You do not need a Facebook account to enter the giveaway. You do need to have Javascript enabled to see the widget, however.

Click here to enter the giveaway page

For the mandatory entry, you have to leave a comment here. After leaving a comment, click the I DID THIS button. Fill in your name and email address. Then click the ENTER THIS GIVEAWAY button.

If you have any questions regarding the giveaway or usage of Rafflecopter, please feel free to leave a comment below. I’ll be happy to answer your questions.

If for good reasons, you are unable to enter via the Rafflecopter widget, comment and let me know. I will try to accommodate your request.

Book description of The Sun’s Heartbeat from Amazon:

The beating heart of the sun is the very pulse of life on earth. And from the ancients who plotted its path at Stonehenge to the modern scientists who unraveled the nuclear fusion reaction that turns mass into energy, humankind has sought to solve its mysteries. In this lively biography of the sun, Bob Berman ranges from its stellar birth to its spectacular future death with a focus on the wondrous and enthralling, and on the heartbreaking sacrifice, laughable errors, egotistical battles, and brilliant inspirations of the people who have tried to understand its power.

What, exactly, are the ghostly streaks of light astronauts see-but can’t photograph-when they’re in space? And why is it impossible for two people to see the exact same rainbow? Why are scientists beginning to think that the sun is safer than sunscreen? And how does the fluctuation of sunspots-and its heartbeat-affect everything from satellite communications to wheat production across the globe?

Peppered with mind-blowing facts and memorable anecdotes about spectral curiosities-the recently-discovered “second sun” that lurks beneath the solar surface, the eerie majesty of a total solar eclipse-THE SUN’S HEARTBEAT offers a robust and entertaining narrative of how the Sun has shaped humanity and our understanding of the universe around us.Β 

19 Comments

Filed under Giveaways

19 responses to “The Sun’s Heartbeat by Bob Berman giveaway

  1. Cindi

    I would love to read all these interesting findings about our sun.
    Our two sons would also love reading this book…
    Many thanks, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi, thanks for your interest in this giveaway. You will have to click the “I DID THIS” button at the giveaway page for your entry to count. If you do not have Javascript enabled at your browser, please let me know. Thanks!

  2. Amy

    My roommate would want this book because it has an orange cover. I’m not lying about that.

  3. Amy

    Woot for Rafflecopter! I love using it to enter giveaways!

  4. I guess I’m kind of confused. It said to leave a comment here, or did it mean on your FB wall? So NOT a techie! You have the most interesting books on here :0)

  5. ok, I have entered on your widget on FB! that is pretty cool.

    • Hi Anne, thanks for entering the giveaway. I’m sorry for the confusion. I’ve amended the instructions so that it’s clearer now. What I meant was this giveaway blog post.
      Yeah, Rafflecopter is pretty cool. If you’re using WordPress.ORG (instead of WordPress.COM), you might want to try it out. It works well on Blogger, so I’ve been told.

  6. Thank you for this giveaway πŸ™‚ It’s really time for me to read something other than my textbook. πŸ™‚

  7. Sounds great, please enter me.

  8. karenk

    thanks for the chance to read this amazing book πŸ™‚

  9. +JMJ+

    Oh, cool! =D I can’t remember the last time someone offered a Hard Science book in a giveaway. Thanks for this chance, Evangeline! =)

  10. The giveaway page link goes into your facebook page and then the facebook link goes back into this page…I cannot enter! But I tweeted the giveaway and would love to win! πŸ™‚

  11. Emma

    This sounds like a great book.Thanks for this chance

  12. love to win the book.thanks

  13. Gina Hamm

    Would love to win so I can gift to my father!

  14. Margie

    This sounds like an interesting book. I think my husband would like it too.