Review: The Trust by Sean Keefer

the trust book coverOld Line Publishing, ISBN 978-1937004170

Rating: 3 ~ It’s Okay

Attorney Noah Parks is directed to handle the probate case of Leonardo Xavier Cross, a man he has never met. As part of his fee, he will receive a safe deposit box none of Cross’ friends knew existed. Noah thinks that this is a simple case to handle, until the body count of those involved in Cross’ will begins to rise. What seems to be a simple probate case turns out to be a dangerous and deadly adventure for Noah and all involved in the will.

I would have enjoyed The Trust more if the narration had been better. It was too detailed! As a reader, I did not need all the minute details the narrator was letting me know.
Nevertheless, I was considerably impressed with this debut legal thriller novel. The answers to the mysteries (yes, there is more than one mystery in this novel) is unusual.
While this novel might not be packed with as much courtroom drama or action as I’d like to read in a thriller novel, Sean Keefer applied ingenuity to turn this story into an attention grabber.
I enjoyed getting to know the main characters, especially Anna Beth. When first introduced, she was a mysterious character. As the story ran on, we got to know more and more about her personality and history. At the end of the book, we don’t know everything about her, but we do know that she is one smart character who is able to outwit the antagonist in the story. There is a sequel to The Trust and I’m definitely looking forward to reading more about Anna Beth and of course, Noah, too.
Overall, the writing style in The Trust could have been better, but for a debut novel, it surpassed my expectations.

Tour Notes:

Please vote for my blog in the traffic-breaker poll for this tour. The blogger with the most votes wins a free promotional twitterview and a special winner’s badge. I want that to be me! You can vote in the poll by visiting The Trust’s official blog tour page and scrolling all the way to the bottom.

You can also enter to win a free paperback copy of this novel on The Trust’s official blog tour page. The winner of the give-away will be announced on Wednesday, August 10 – be sure to enter before then!

author sean keeferSean Keefer is a practicing attorney in Charleston, South Carolina. After experimenting with a number of styles and genres, he focused on mystery and suspense generally involving the legal profession. His debut novel, The Trust, was published in January 2011. He is currently writing a sequel to The Trust. Visit his website at www.seankeefer.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through the Novel Publicity book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

8 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

8 responses to “Review: The Trust by Sean Keefer

  1. I wanted to vote for your but can’t seem to find sugarpeach in the list …

  2. reading rendezvous reviewz

    I went to vote for you also and your blog name is not listed among the voting sites. It is listed at the top with the blog sites that are participating. I will check back monday evening.
    Oh, I’m finish with the review of the my life as a Amish.

  3. Sorry, Evangeline. I didn’t realize that I had left Sugar Peach off the poll. It’s there now 🙂

  4. Thanks for taking the time to do this review!
    Sean

Leave a Reply

