Review: Stairs of Sand by Eileen Granfors

stairs of sand book coverCreateSpace, ISBN 978-1461109495

Rating: 3.5 ~ It’s Okay, but I Like It

Jolene is a single mom to troubled daughter Suzann. Never mind that Suzann insists on being called Zoozle or that she is a drug addict, this daughter is a troublemaker. Zoozle thinks that her mother doesn’t care enough about her. She hates her mother’s attitude. Both mother and daughter cannot get along with each other. After Zoozle tried to commit suicide, both mother and daughter are increasingly forced to be together by various circumstances. Only time will tell if their relationship lasts.

I thought that the story was a little unfair to Jolene. Yes, she isn’t the perfect mother (perfect mothers don’t exist anyway), but this doesn’t give Zoozle the right to constantly think bad about her. I found myself being constantly annoyed and turned-off at Zoozle’s behavior. She definitely wasn’t a character I liked. Phillip is my favorite character. His patience and understanding made him very likeable. It was a pity he isn’t a very major character.

Since this book doesn’t have plenty of action, what captivated my attention for most of the book was Jolene and Zoozle’s relationship… two lively characters with a rocky relationship. The sourness in their relationship is expressed well by their thoughts and words. Still, there were some short “lapses” where I lost interest because of the lack of action. I also wished that we were given a chance to know more about the other characters besides Jolene and Zoozle.

eileen granfors author

Eileen Granfors taught high school level English. After her teaching career, she turned to writing. She has published numerous short stories, an anthology, and a volume of poetry. Stairs of Sand is her second novel to be published. It was among her first writings, but Eileen revised the work extensively over a period of six years.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Comments are closed.