Review: The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall

the christmas singing book coverPublisher: WaterBrook Press
ISBN: 978-0307446541
Pages: 208
Format: e-Galley
Rating: 4
Age recommendation: Teens, Young adult, Adult
Buy: Amazon

Three years ago, Mattie thought everything was going well in her relationship with childhood sweetheart Gideon until she found him cheating on Christmas Eve. As quickly as she could, she packed her bags, baking equipment and moved to Ohio. She opened her highly successful Mattie Cakes and moved on in her dating life before a disaster forces her to return to Pennsylvania. And to the truths that are being revealed, truths Gideon kept all these years.

Review

Cozy is the exact and right description for The Christmas Singing. As I read the novella, I envisioned sitting in a comfy fire by the fireplace. I couldn’t help it. The romance and mystery themes were evenly paced, and Cindy Woodsmall achieved making this a relaxing read despite the surprises scattered here and there in the story, mainly due to the mystery theme.

I love the way the real reason behind Gideon and Mattie’s breakup is slowly revealed. It was like a juicy tidbit is being dangled before us readers so that we will want to read more and more. That made reading this book even more exciting than it already is. The story is simple enough, but what clinches it is the breakup and tension.

While I like the Gideon and Mattie characters equally the same, Sol was my favorite character and I couldn’t help pitying him many times. He has this soft side that makes him endearing. Gideon and Mattie’s conversations were my favorite parts in The Christmas Singing. I enjoyed analyzing them. There is much to think about and rationalize in the conversations.

I don’t know how Cindy managed to turn out a piece of work that is both relaxing, exciting, mysterious and romantic, but she certainly makes it turn out all good. The elements are all juggled well, and the ending leaves you feeling contented. This is just the type of book I’d sit back and read after those tense and complicated books (not that I don’t love them too, though!). The Christmas Singing is one of the best Amish books I’ve read to date!

Please rank my review at Blogging for Books

cindy woodsmall authorCindy Woodsmall is a New York Times bestselling author. Her first novel, When the Heart Cries, released in 2006 became a Christian Book Association bestseller. It was also the 2007 ECPA Christian Book of the Year Award finalist. Her second novel, When the Morning Comes, hit numerous best-sellers lists across the US, including edging into the extended list of the New York Times, coming in at number thirty-four. Her third novel, When the Soul Mends, hit the New York Times best-sellers list, coming in at number thirteen, as well as making the USA Today’s best-sellers list. Her connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families has served well to provide authenticity in her fiction and nonfiction works. Visit her website at www.cindywoodsmall.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

4 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

4 responses to “Review: The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall

  1. I LOVE your review! I’m so glad you enjoyed the book 🙂 I hope you have a very Merry Christmas, Evangeline!!!

  2. I used to be a huge fan of amish books, especially Beverley Lewis’. I haven’t read any in awhile though because I got a bit burned out. This one sounds cute! Maybe this’ll be my re-introduction to the sub-genre.

    • So far, I’ve only read one Beverly Lewis book. I have some Amish books, but it’s not really my preferred genre. 🙂 You should try something short first, like a novella. This one is a novella.